Passed PMP

PMP® Exam Lessons – Success Stories
krishnaiyer01

Passed PMP

Postby krishnaiyer01 Wed Jul 31, 2019 4:43 am

Hi All,

Sharing my experiences through the PMP journey and hope this helps you in yours too.

1. The PMP exam requires a lot of endurance and practice. Because most of the questions are situational, it's advisable to solve as many mock tests as possible. Get a feel for the way the questions are worded. Also, don't worry about the marks in these mock tests. Try to judge where you went wrong and correct the mistakes.
2. Set a target of 3 to 4 months to pass the exam. It took me 7 months. Build a Time Table. Be prepared to take time out of your schedules and sacrifice weekend outings, vacation, etc.
During this period. I studied for 2 hours on weekdays 7 PM to 9 PM Monday to Saturday and on Sunday 4 hours.
3. The method that I followed was:
• Read PMBOK6 once and then I went through each chapter a little more slowly and took notes in the form of bullet points.
• After each chapter, I watched Saket’s Video (I had Subscribed to IzenBridges 180 Days PMP Online Course). Saket explains the concept in a very lucid manner. This helped me a lot.
• Referred to Rita whenever ever I required a more detailed understanding.
• Solved all the chapter wise quizzes of Izen and Rita. Took mock exams from Izen to test my endurance and my gaps. Also Solved Oliver Lehmann’s 100 Free Questions.
• Further, I read PMBOK almost 3 times, Rita 2 times, along with Saket’s video.
TIP: Understanding the concept integrated into ITTO is a must. I would recommend prospective PMPs to always keep PMBOK handy. Carry it with you. Make this book your companion. Become a part of the PMI world. I also read the PMBOK processes group-wise.
4. Focus on Risk (PMI's Favorite), Risk Owner, Cost, Scope, and Schedule. Understand how a change request will affect all the Knowledge areas.
5. Contract types and Risk associated with these Contracts.